The Musings of Miles [LP]

  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.


The Musings of Miles

2 Bonus Tracks/ 180gr./ Images by Francis Wolff
Bonus Track(s), High Quality, Gatefold sleeve


The Musings of Miles, recorded in a quartet format with Miles as the only horn, also features Red Garland on piano, the great Oscar Pettiford on bass, and Philly Joe Jones on drums. Part of the rhythm section of this quartet became the nucleus of the group that would be later known as Miles' "First Great Quintet". Garland and Jones would soon be in Miles' group, although the fiery Pettiford proved too difficult for the trumpeter to handle and was quickly succeeded by Paul Chambers. The set contains four standards, a blues titled "Green Haze" and Miles' tune "I Didn't", which was the trumpeter's humorous response to Thelonious Monk's "Well You Needn't". "A Night in Tunisia" features Philly Joe Jones playing with special drum sticks which had bells riveted to the shaft. The only other two quartet recordings by Miles with Oscar Pettiford have been added here as a bonus.

Recorded Hackensack, New Jersey, June 7, 1955. Bonus tracks recorded New York, May 9, 1952.



      • 1. Will You Still Be Mine? 6:21
      • 2. I See Your Face Before Me 4:43
      • 3. I Didn't 6:03
      • 4. Yesterdays 3:46 (Bonus Track)
      • 5. A Gal In Calico 5:15
      • 6. A Night In Tunisia 7:21
      • 7. Green Haze 5:51
      • 8. How Deep is the Ocean? 4:40 (Bonus Track)