Siegfried's Story

  • Sale
  • Regular price $25.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Siegfried's Story

A musical journey through Wagner's Ring of the Nibelungs, arranged for horn, tuba and piano by Mark Papworth.

Siegfried's Story is an arrangement of highlights from Wagner's Ring of the Nibelungs for horn, tuba and piano. Including 12 movements, this arrangement contains selections from all four operas that make up his epic Ring cycle.

Whilst at first glance it may seem unusual arranging Wagner's music for this combination, it succeeds in turning Wagner into dramatic chamber music due to the way Wagner wrote for the horns and low brass in his big musical moments. The writing lends itself to the combined sounds of the horn and tuba, with the horn generally providing the melody, the tuba providing a strong bass sound and the piano filling in the technical string parts.

With carefully selected movements from each opera, Siegfried's Story follows in order the story of the Ring cycle.

  • Move Records
  • MCD597