Rautavaara: Cello Music

  • Sale
  • Regular price $27.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Tall Poppies

David Pereira - cello
Bonnie Smart - cello
Ian Munro - piano

Remarkably, all these cello works by the Finnish composer Einojuhani Rautavaara, are presented here in world premiere recordings. The works span nearly 50 years from the pen of Rautavaara, and the major compositional influences through his life are revealed. The solo sonata and the two sonatas with piano deserve a place in the cello repertoire, notwithstanding their virtuosic technical demands.


Two Preludes and Fugues (1955)
Sonata for Cello Solo (1969
Sonata for Cello and Piano No 1 (1972-3/2001)
Polska for two cellos and piano (1977)
Sonata for Cello and Piano (1991)