Beethoven: Missa Solemnis

  • Sale
  • Regular price $29.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Ludwig van Beethoven (1770-1827)

Missa Solemnis, Op. 123

  • Johanna Winkel (soprano), Sophie Harmsen (mezzo-soprano), Sebastian Kohlhepp (tenor), Arttu Kataja (bass)
  • Kammerchor Stuttgart, Hofkapelle Stuttgart, Frieder Bernius
  • Carus CV83501

Beethoven repeatedly described the Missa Solemnis as his greatest work, intended to affect and move people. His labour on the composition was long and intense; the work is not regarded as the most important mass setting of the 19th century in vain. In terms of its scope and musical demands, it reaches far beyond what is liturgically usual - not without reason did the premiere take place in a concert hall. The Kammerchor Stuttgart and the Hofkapelle Stuttgart under the leadership of Frieder Bernius master the challenges of the Missa with bravura. All the sonorous groups work together intensively, creating an organic and homogeneous flow of interpretation. The young quartet of soloists Johanna Winkel, Sophie Harmsen, Sebastian Kohlhepp and Arttu Kataja complement the ensembles.

Released May 2019