Aurora Borealis

  • Sale
  • Regular price $25.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The music of pianist and composer Ken Herrera takes its inspiration from all over the world, and from all colours of the musical spectrum. Embracing melody and meaning in music, the composer has charted his own course in contemporary waters.

Ken Herrera’s second disc of solo piano works, Aurora Borealis, continues his odyssey into other worlds of sound. The shimmering luminescence of the title suite melds with the cheerful simplicity of the Three Dances. The poignant harmonies of the Second Nocturne give way to the exotic rhythms and Andalusian verve of the Flamenco Sketches. Crowning the disc, Herrera’s second piano sonata is a bold and ambitious work, brimming over with fire and pathos.

MCD 518