• Sale
  • Regular price $25.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.


Alicia Crossley, one of Australia's leading recorder players, performs transcriptions for recorder. She performs a wide variety of repertoire from renaissance dance tunes, to contemporary electro-acoustic works with a particular interest in bass recorder repertoire.

The collection of works featured on Alchemy have all been transformed into valuable compositions for the recorder and help bridge the gaps that exist in traditional repertoire for the instrument. Works such as Tromlitz’s Partita V, Faure’s Sicilienne, and Debussy’s Syrinx extend the recorder into the rarely explored classical, romantic and impressionist genres.

Other works, such as Bach’s Cello Suite No.1 and Telemann’s Fantasia 10, have been selected to enhance the limited solo repertoire for tenor and bass recorder; instruments that have virtually no solo repertoire before the mid-twentieth century. Each transcription featured on Alchemy has been kept as close to the original score as possible, with the occasional transposition made in order to keep the composition within the recorders’ range.

  • Move Records
  • MCD 508