ACO Beethoven Edition

  • Sale
  • Regular price $34.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • ABC Classics
  • 4819075
  • 3CD set

Australian Chamber Orchestra

Beethoven Edition

Richard Tognetti - violin and director

“250 years ago, Ludwig van Beethoven, the Grand Mogul from Bonn (as Haydn cheekily referred to him) was born. The German composer, whose own extraordinary story famously includes suffering from profound deafness from his late 20s, would become regarded as the great musical liberator, forging the course of the Romantic movement and beyond.” Richard Tognetti

In 2020 the Australian Chamber Orchestra will celebrate two monumental anniversaries: 30 years of fearless leadership with ACO Artistic Director Richard Tognetti and 250 years since the birth of the great Ludwig van Beethoven.

To celebrate both milestones, ABC Classic is releasing a collection of the ACO’s legendary Beethoven recordings – including never-before released recordings of two of his greatest works: Symphonies 5 and 6.

These recordings represent some of the orchestra’s finest performances, including two #1 albums and three ARIA Award-nominees, and feature collaborations with some of Australia’s finest artists – soprano Nicole Car, and pianists Tamara Anna Cislowska and Erin Helyard.

Beethoven has endured for centuries as one of the most popular and beloved composers around the world, with his music found everywhere from concert halls, to film soundtracks, to disco-era chart-toppers. He was a true musical revolutionary and is credited with paving the transition between the Classical and Romantic eras. His music has always been a mainstay of the ACO’s core repertoire, but this marks the first time that they have recorded these two monumental symphonies.

Since its establishment in November 1975, the Australian Chamber Orchestra has become one of the world’s most daring and exciting ensembles, renowned globally for its inspired programming, unrivalled virtuosity, energy and individuality, showcased through an extensive and ongoing program of international touring and recordings for many of the world’s top labels.

★★★★★“The Australian Chamber Orchestra was splendid in its all-Beethoven concert… [achieving] revealing clarity that gleamed like the colours of an old master newly restored.”
– Sydney Morning Herald

“[Beethoven’s] Fifth is always a crowdpleaser, and the ACO made it exceptionally so. This was the stuff of dreams.” – Limelight



Symphony No. 5 in C minor, Op. 67 *

Symphony No. 6 in F major, Op. 68 ‘Pastoral’ *


String Quartet in B-flat major, Op. 130, with Grosse Fuge, Op. 133 (arr. for string orchestra by Richard Tognetti)

Romance for Violin and Orchestra in F major, Op. 50
- Satu Vänskä– violin

Piano Concerto No. 5 in E-flat major, Op. 73 ‘Emperor’: II. Adagio un poco moose
- Tamara-Anna Cislowska– piano

Ah! perfido ... Per pietà, non dirmi addio, Op. 65
- Nicole Car – soprano


Sonata for Violin and Piano in G major, Op. 30, No. 3

Sonata for Violin and Piano in A major, Op. 47 ‘Kreutzer’
- Richard Tognetti – violin
- Erin Helyard – fortepiano

Violin Concerto in D major, Op. 61: I. Allegro ma non troppo
- Richard Tognetti - violin

* Never previously released