The Emerald Phoenix

  • Sale
  • Regular price $27.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The Emerald Phoenix

Josie and the Emeralds

Josie Ryan, soprano; Brooke Green, (director), Laura Vaughan (viols)

In 2014, Tall Poppies released The Emerald Leopard (TP233) which included music for soprano and viols by Brooke Green (“intriguing...beguiling...a delight” - Vincent Plush: The Weekend Australian, 4-5- April, 2015)

The Emerald Phoenix presents recents works by Brooke Green for soprano, viols and theorbo, featuring soprano Josie Ryan and the brilliant bass viol player Laura Vaughan.

The music here is put to the service of some very contemporary Australian issues such as the story of Mungo Lady and the detention of refugees. Inspired by the phoenix who rises from the ashes, there is a theme of transformation: of hope after sorrow, of triumph over adversity. Inspired by ancient myths and legends, uppity women and lost manuscripts, Brooke’s music creates new repertoire for the viol and draws attention to Australia’s suppressed or forgotten histories.

The disc ends with Brooke’s remarkable completion of Dr Robert Stevenson’s late 1500s set of 7 Misereres, which survive without the two treble parts.

There is much to enjoy here.

PROGRAM (all compositions by Brooke Green unless otherwise acknowledged.)

Phoenix Chaconne
Reza Barai
Hamed Samshiripour
The Dream
Empress Ki
Richard Sumarte: Daphne
The Spirit of Daphne
Midsummer Love
Robert Stevenson and Brooke Green: Dr Stevenson’s Medley


Tall Poppies 1CD