Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt Volume 1

  • Sale
  • Regular price $109.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt Edition

Volume 1

Limited edition 14CD set

The two stereo Beethoven cycles, those of the Symphonies (1965–70) and the Piano Concertos (with Wilhelm Backhaus, 1958–59), form the core of this edition of the complete Decca recordings of Hans Schmidt-Isserstedt (1900–1973). It is distinguished by the Wiener Philharmoniker’s unique transparency of sound allied to a firm pulse and rhythmic drive which characterized Schmidt-Isserstedt’s conducting. Several of the recordings were produced by Erik Smith, the conductor’s son.


Eloquence 14CD Set