Joyce El-Khoury: Echo

  • Sale
  • Regular price $27.95
Shipping calculated at checkout.

The magnificent Lebanese-Canadian soprano Joyce El-Khoury’s debut recital album. Écho features music associated with the great 19th century soprano Julie Dorus-Gras, including arias by Berlioz, Donizetti, Meyerbeer and Weber. She also duets with her co-star from Les Martyrs, Michael Spyres, whose own recital disc is also released internationally in September 2017.

Born in the Lebanon and brought up in Canada, Joyce El-Khoury studied in Ottawa and Philadelphia, before graduating from the Metropolitan Opera's Lindemann Young Artist Development programme. Today she is one of the brightest young stars in the opera world, recently receiving universal acclaim for her landmark performance of Violetta in La Traviata at the Royal Opera House, Covent Garden. As well as singing extensively in America, she appears widely in opera and concert throughout Europe, including the Bayerishe Staatsoper. She returns to Covent Garden in 2018, but before then will star in Glyndebourne and Madrid, as well as singing extensively in concert.


1 Donizetti, Lucia di Lammermoor, ‘Regnava nel silenzio’ 8’30
2 Meyerbeer, Robert le diable, ‘Robert, toi que j’aime’ 5’39
3 Weber/Berlioz, Le Freyschütz, ‘Hélas! sans le revoir’ 8’00
4 Rossini, Guillaume Tell, ‘Ils s’éloignent enfin’ 8’30
5 Meyerbeer, Robert le diable, ‘Va, dit-elle, va, mon enfant’ 6’37
6 Donizetti, Lucia di Lammermoor, ‘Lucia, perdona…’* 13’23
7 Hérold, Le Pré aux clercs, ‘Jours de mon enfance’ 5’20
8 Meyerbeer, Robert le diable, ‘Quand je quittai la Normandie’ 5’31
9 Halévy, La Juive, ‘Assez longtemps la crainte et la tristesse’ 8’54
10 Berlioz, Benvenuto Cellini, ‘Les belles fleurs’ 7’43