Beethoven Complete Piano Concertos

  • Sale
  • $34.95
  • Regular price $50.00
Shipping calculated at checkout.

  • Paul Lewis (piano)
  • BBC Symphony Orchestra, Jiri Belohlavek (conductor)
  • Harmonia Mundi HMC90205355

At the press launch of this year’s BBC Proms season Roger Wright (Controller, BBC Radio 3 and Director of the BBC Proms) announced that for the first time ever, one pianist, Paul Lewis, would be performing all Beethoven’s Piano Concertos, albeit with different orchestras.

His complete set of the Beethoven sonatas enjoyed extraordinary acclaim in the UK, culminating in the prestigious ‘Recording of the Year’ award from Gramophone magazine for the fourth volume in 2008. Encouraged by what has now become a worldwide success, Paul Lewis has chosen to turn his attention to the five piano concertos with these distinguished partners. Recorded between July 2009 and March 2010, these interpretations paint a portrait of Beethoven full of light and shade.

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 1 in C major, Op. 15
1. Allegro con brio
2. Largo
3. Allegro scherzando

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 2 in B flat major, Op. 19
4. Allegro con brio
5. Molto Allegro
6. Adagio

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 3 in C minor, Op. 37
7. Allegro con brio
8. Largo
9. Allegro

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 4 in G major, Op. 58
10. Allegro moderato
11. Andante con moto
12. Rondo vivace

Beethoven Piano Concerto No. 5 in E flat major, Op. 73 'Emperor'
13. Allegro
14. Adagio un poco mosso
15. Allegro ma non troppo